Traditions

The day after Thanksgiving already – imagine. Where did the time go!  I am curious about the different traditions ya’ll have for celebrating the holidays. Who puts their Christmas tree up this weekend? Did you go out into the insanity of Black Friday? Who waits until Christmas Eve to set up the tree?

My traditons have changed dramatically since my son became a man with his own family. No more do I have 30-40 people to feed for either day. I don’t even have snow for the holidays any more!

What do you do that makes this time of year special?

53 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kim
    Nov 27, 2009 @ 09:37:10

    Have a safe Black Friday!

    Reply

  2. Filipa
    Nov 27, 2009 @ 10:20:12

    Kim, here goes the portuguese testimony:
    We do not celebrate Thanksgiving. Yes, this weekend ussualy the tree goes up. At 24th the family gathers for evening meal, after midnight the presents/gifts are exchanged (left by Santa to the little ones already sleeping…)
    The 25th the family celebration continues (which is very useful for modern day’s families, since they can have lunch with daddy & dinner with mummy (and more recently added family!!LOL)

    THIS IS DIFERENT, since our neighbours (Spain) only opens the Christmas gifts on January 5th!!)after the New Year

    ..and that’s how it goes traditionwise in the Iberic Peninsula!!!!

    Reply

  3. Kim
    Nov 27, 2009 @ 10:35:57

    Wonderful! Thank you Filipa!

    What delicious things do you eat and drink?

    Are there special ornaments you have?

    Reply

  4. Filipa
    Nov 27, 2009 @ 11:12:03

    well,since it’s celebrated during 24th &25th, its basically the american Thanksgiving meal (roasted turkey) in one day and “bacalhau” (Cod fish) the other. And plenty on tradicional sweet treats with lot of variety.THERE’S ALWAYS “bolo Rei” (king cake) which is round and covered with sugar-iced dry fruits & nuts.
    (..basically a f…ing nightmare when you have adiabetic child home!!lol)

    On the contrary, in Spain the big day for kids it’s “Dia de los reys” Jan 5th, as opposed to 24th in th evening,early 25th.

    Reply

  5. Kim
    Nov 27, 2009 @ 11:16:38

    I remember as a young child thinking that cussing profusely was part of setting up a Christmas tree. It was always my father’s job to do it and since way back then only real trees were used it was a major chore! After becoming grown and trying to set my own tree, I discovered the real reasons for the cussing!

    Needless to say I was grateful when artificial trees became common!

    Reply

  6. Filipa
    Nov 27, 2009 @ 11:21:03

    ornments-gate

    the tree(this one is compulsive! you cannot escape.
    My family and a lot of others here have a small “mise-.en-scene” representing the birth of Jesus, called “Presépio”, composed of little figures that vary in size.
    I have alovely one with clay figures, painted white & Gold that my mother brought from Mexico
    ages ago!!!(it has Maria, Jose, little Jesus, the 3 kings, 1 angel 3 sheeps, 1 cow, 1 donkey and 2 praying children!!!)
    Let’s see if I can get you a picture when everything’s up!

    My pleasure Kim!!!

    Reply

  7. FU
    Nov 27, 2009 @ 11:22:28

    Ok I’m at work but here it goes,
    I always put up my tree as soon after Thanksgiving as I can get. With all the kids who are grown now homemade and school made decorations go on it no matter how tattered they are.
    Then it’s the outside decorations and yes I get a little crazy each year on this.
    I have a 5 ft Santa and Frosty who sing and I put blanket ligts in my carport and set a tree up in it. Then santa and frosty go on each side of the tree on Christmas day they are set for sensor and start singing when anyone sets it off 😆 then there’s Santa’s work shop and christmas decorations in my tree out front also lights on anything that does’t move the multi colored ones. My nativity scene goes out my mother made it and I have a star that goes with it. So you know my house when you see it. the christmas elves go crazy at my house :LOL:

    Reply

  8. Filipa
    Nov 27, 2009 @ 11:26:48

    Yeah, I remenber natural pines too!!!! LOL
    now it’s the same tree, that comes out every year!!!

    (what I meant about the “Presépio” is since those small figures are in clay, its a miracle they’re still intact after all these years in & out of the boxes!!!LOL)But the mexican one I have home is lovely!!! my mum has one tradicional from Brasil (also artcraft) but not as cute!

    Reply

  9. Kim
    Nov 27, 2009 @ 11:32:41

    FU! Are you ever NOT at work?!! lol

    We need pics of THAT display!

    Filipa – we have a similar arrangement we call Nativity scenes and they vary fro small creches to really elaborate full size displays!

    Mine is a tiny grouping in a manger scene to fit under my tiny tree

    Reply

  10. Filipa
    Nov 27, 2009 @ 11:39:21

    There you go!!!it doesn’t differ much!!
    Btw, remember Molly, the chinchila I gave Carlota last Xtmas???? STILL ALIVE! and big as a rabbit!
    LOL

    Reply

  11. Kim
    Nov 27, 2009 @ 11:42:11

    My son’s very first Christmas we had just moved into a flat and money was really tight, as I am sure you can all imagine! A dear friend of ours, my son’s Godfather, gave us our first tree, a real one. It was huge!! I had very very few ornaments for it so I set it up in a corner and just decorated the front.
    My son adored that tree! so much so that after the third time he pulled it down I set a sofa in front of it!

    Reply

  12. Kim
    Nov 27, 2009 @ 11:44:14

    That chinchila has been through a lot, Filipa! I am so glad to hear she is doing well and growing. I know she means a lot to Carlota

    Reply

  13. Filipa
    Nov 27, 2009 @ 11:47:58

    Kim,
    I just checked with my mum. I never spent Thanksgiving in the U.S. but she did!!!
    She said:”It’s a big deal there, like the 24th here!”
    So we got the cleared!!!! LOL
    ..in different days, but same festivities!!!

    ps. What do you call “tiny”? U.S. tiny or “our tiny” i.e. Lillyput!!! ROFL

    Reply

  14. Kim
    Nov 27, 2009 @ 11:50:22

    it is a 3 foot tree – imbedded lights

    it is a major celebration here, fer sure

    Reply

  15. Kim
    Nov 27, 2009 @ 11:52:05

    FU’s display would put mine to shame – I don’t put many lights outside at all

    Reply

  16. Kim
    Nov 27, 2009 @ 12:07:10

    I do have a snowman for out doors but it seems silly to me to put a lighted snowman out when there is no snow….

    Reply

  17. FU
    Nov 27, 2009 @ 12:44:31

    Kim nothing is silly at christmas. take that snow looking stuff and make an area for your snow man to sit on I do (told you the elves are crazy at my house)
    I just have to fined someone and sweet talk them into getting my lights up doing the ladder thing is over for me I was stoved up for a week last year after I did the lights :LOL:

    Reply

  18. Kim
    Nov 27, 2009 @ 12:46:24

    I do have a Noel light to put in the window, FU 😉

    I am sitting here trying to coax myself into doing the tree – after all it takes all of 5 minutes to put together!

    Stay off that dang ladder!!

    Reply

  19. Kim
    Nov 27, 2009 @ 14:00:47

    hey Chey – you around?

    Get in here!!

    Reply

  20. Filipa
    Nov 27, 2009 @ 14:07:18

    Only just noticed!!!!!
    CONGRAT’s ON THE BLOGS XTMAS DECORATION!!!
    nice styling!!!!lol

    Reply

  21. Kim
    Nov 27, 2009 @ 14:08:56

    thanks!

    very festive, don’t you think?

    Reply

  22. Kim
    Nov 27, 2009 @ 14:10:40

    Reply

  23. Filipa
    Nov 27, 2009 @ 14:17:52

    Kim
    you know, I’ve always wondered those ppl that spend Xtmas in hot climates, had the Nativity “adaptation” LOL
    ..but then one Xtmas i went to Africa with my parents…nnd there it was…Santa! (…and without any swimming wear!!!)
    LOL

    Reply

  24. Kim
    Nov 27, 2009 @ 14:20:39

    TG now swim wear for Santa!

    I grew up in the north and never even considered no snow for Christmas

    Reply

  25. FU
    Nov 27, 2009 @ 14:53:01

    Kim

    Like the new CHRISTMAS LOOK!!!!!!!!!!!
    WOOHOOOOOOO!!!!!!!!!

    Reply

  26. Kim
    Nov 27, 2009 @ 14:56:04

    thanks, FU!

    I was digging around in closets and found this 😉

    Reply

  27. Kim
    Nov 27, 2009 @ 14:56:26

    Are you still at work?

    Reply

  28. FU
    Nov 27, 2009 @ 15:08:41

    yes I am heheheheheh

    Reply

  29. Kim
    Nov 27, 2009 @ 15:13:18

    Go home!

    lol

    Reply

  30. FU
    Nov 27, 2009 @ 15:20:27

    thinking about bringing a cot gotta work tomorrow 😆

    Reply

  31. Kim
    Nov 27, 2009 @ 15:21:12

    no doubt!

    when do you get a dang day off?!!!

    Reply

  32. FU
    Nov 27, 2009 @ 15:24:31

    yesterday and Sunday

    Reply

  33. Kim
    Nov 27, 2009 @ 15:26:31

    sheesh – nothing like making them usable days

    Reply

  34. Kim
    Nov 27, 2009 @ 15:31:28

    back in a bit –

    Reply

  35. savannahsnanny
    Nov 27, 2009 @ 16:35:58

    Hi ya’ll…wow I sound like Kim, huh?
    Hope everone is having a great day and is relaxing…I know you are working FU…pace yoursel!!!
    Up until I married in 1980 my family celebated Christmas on the evening of the 24th…with fish before midnight, and at midnight all roasted meats, and opening presents…will come back later with more. JAC

    Reply

  36. Kim
    Nov 27, 2009 @ 16:40:06

    Hey Savannah!

    What kind of fish? I have an Italian friend that always had calamari (ew)

    Reply

  37. Kim
    Nov 27, 2009 @ 17:36:05

    After I bought the farm our traditions changed a bit. I had a wonderful scene on which to paint with lights and color. The snow made a wonderful back drop to string lights and hang garlands and ribbons.

    Big beautiful windows to display my tree. A fire place for stockings and dogs all warm by the fire.

    Gosh I miss it

    Reply

  38. Kim
    Nov 27, 2009 @ 17:54:31

    My first year there I had a big artificial tree and miles of the old fashion outdoor lights – all blue and green that I ran arounf the wrap around porch.

    my tree was always done in red and white. It peeked out from behind the antique lace curtains

    Reply

  39. Kim
    Nov 27, 2009 @ 18:03:53

    Because we always had gardens and I canned or froze everything I was able to lay out an amazing spread. Candied pears were a big favorite of mine but the deer jerky my son spent so much time on was a crowd pleaser.

    Reply

  40. Kim
    Nov 27, 2009 @ 18:26:13

    Christmas Eve was our little family time usually. We would have finished what ever chores needed doing and have a dinner of what ever snacks appealled to us. One gift before midnight was the rule…..lol

    Reply

  41. FU
    Nov 27, 2009 @ 20:09:31

    The Kids always tried to catch Santa 😆
    They never did and still haven’t :ninja:
    HAHAHAHAHHAHAHAHHAHA :devil:

    Reply

  42. Filipa
    Nov 28, 2009 @ 04:19:12

    Well it’s important to add the following remark:

    I consider rain+ cold to be ok for Xtmas (RE my post on hot wheather Xtmas).
    Since there’s only ONE SINGLE PLACE where it snows here. And it’s just for no more than a month, in a mountain peak, at 3.000m high!!!!(dont even think of skying!!!) name:”Serra da Estrela”
    I believe the purpuse why God provided this country with this sample of snow, is that portuguese children don’t behave like peasants, when they watch snowing on TV!!!LOL
    ..and of course one in a lifetime at least, everybody travels there (car only) to witness “the event”,so they can “touch/feel snow”
    …if you’re up to more exciting discovery’s (like skying, snowboarding seriously,better stick to plan B(i.e travel abroad to north Spain, Italy Swiss,france,Austria.)
    I’m not fooling you guys, this is rather warm here! LOL

    Reply

  43. Filipa
    Nov 28, 2009 @ 04:28:46

    Are the window dressings around the U.S as exuberant in Xtmas as they are in NY??? (or London, Paris)
    Xmas in NY …now, that’s what I call “big time” celebration!!!just beautiful!!!
    Here in the capital (Lisbon) they decorate the city downtown & some avenues but there’s no possible comparison to THAT!!

    Reply

  44. Filipa
    Nov 28, 2009 @ 04:34:08

    WAIT! for the last couple of years, “they” said Lisbon’s was the biggest Xtmas tree w/ lights, in display across E.U.
    ..of course I took my kids to see, but to be honest I wasnt that impressed… (if they have it again, i’ll take a pic to show you, so u can judge!!) in mid December probably (if ever) due to the hard timers were living today, I guess!

    Reply

  45. Kim
    Nov 28, 2009 @ 08:42:32

    Filipa – here in Texas the light displays simply would boggle your mind. I will ride around and get some pics for you once the season is full blown.

    FU knows what I mean, she is here in Texas too

    Reply

  46. Kim
    Nov 28, 2009 @ 09:56:18

    I just spoke to SJ – she wanted to thank you all for your thoughts and prayers. She has been busy like crazy with tons of family. She has her bad moments but feels blessed to have so mant friends here and at home thinking of her.

    Reply

  47. Filipa
    Nov 28, 2009 @ 13:30:39

    yeah!!!! let’s post nice pic’s from all around!!!that’s exciting Kim!!!
    I’ll email you in a couple of weeks and you can make an “exibition” on Xtman pics inn your blog! what do you say??

    Reply

  48. Kim
    Nov 28, 2009 @ 13:36:51

    Sounds like fun, Filipa!

    Reply

  49. ctjustice
    Nov 28, 2009 @ 17:58:14

    Time Flies fo’ sure. Our tradition would be to get our Christmas decorations out and decorate the day after Thanksgiving…that’s when we lived out of state and it was pre-baby 🙂 Now we do it at our earliest convenience 😀

    Reply

  50. Kim
    Nov 28, 2009 @ 18:12:28

    lol, CT

    I have been avoiding doing it all day! Maybe next weekend – I might have gifts to put under the tree then…

    Filipa had an idea of ya’ll taking pics of decorations put up in your area. I know there are places around Houston that pull out all the stops so I can get some good ones. What do you think?

    Reply

  51. Kim
    Nov 28, 2009 @ 18:12:53

    Molly just walked up and burped at me

    Reply

  52. savannahsnanny
    Nov 29, 2009 @ 17:14:47

    Kim dear…it is so wondeful..I so very love it…should be the best of the best.

    My dear friend,You have mail1

    Reply

  53. Kim
    Nov 29, 2009 @ 19:34:26

    You have mail, Savannah

    Reply

Leave a Reply

