My Friend

This is my dear friend, God’s Angel’s best friend Butcher.

Butcher went peacefully across the Rainbow Bridge on Monday, March 8 2010. My heart is sad and at the same time very proud of my friend, Chey. She made the most difficult decision a pet owner can ever make. She allowed him to leave.

Butcher will never be forgotten, by Chey, her family and all the people who knew him.

PUT ME TO REST

Time to let me go my friend,
Because my life no-one can mend,
Its better to let me go this way,
Than watch me suffer night and day.

I’m happy to go, my time has come,
My quality of life is no longer fun,
Ive been so ill, so its not a bad thing,
To let me go forever resting.

Stay with me till I drift away,
Fast asleep forever I pray,
To relieve me from suffering and pain,
What more can I ask from my best friend.

Don’t be sad, I’ll be free from pain,
Never to be ill ever again,
I know you’ll miss me being there,
But all the memories you have to share.

Thankyou for being my best friend,
And all my needs that you did tend,
Try not to be sad, try not to cry,
Now’s the time to say GOODBYE.

38 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kim
    Mar 09, 2010 @ 22:47:27

    My heart is with you, Chey

    Reply

  2. Kim
    Mar 09, 2010 @ 22:56:27

    I met my friend God’s Angel on a blog. We have been good friends ever since. I can’t do anything to help ease her heart due to the distance that separates us but I can make a place for others who know Chey and also love their pets to come and offer condolences, if they wish.

    All are welcome

    Reply

  3. FU
    Mar 09, 2010 @ 22:59:54

    Chey I’m so sorry for your loss.
    You did the right thing for your best friend.
    Love you

    Reply

  4. Kim
    Mar 09, 2010 @ 23:10:24

    Hi FU – thanks for saying that.

    Reply

  5. savannahsnanny
    Mar 09, 2010 @ 23:31:43

    You are blessed Chey to have this wonderful friend and pet in your life.
    I wish I could hug you in person. Love, June Ann

    Reply

  6. Kim
    Mar 09, 2010 @ 23:38:53

    Hi Savannah.

    Reply

  7. savannahsnanny
    Mar 09, 2010 @ 23:43:44

    Hi ya Kim,
    God Bless you for being a good and decent friend to all of us. JA

    Reply

  8. Kim
    Mar 09, 2010 @ 23:49:41

    I love you guys. I hurt when you hurt.

    Reply

  9. CT~J4C
    Mar 10, 2010 @ 00:01:12

    I’m sorry for your loss Chey, you are a strong person, you really are. Just remember, you have relieved your best friend from further pain. I’ve had to do the same thing in the past with one of my dogs and it pained me to drive him to the Vet because we knew it was time. You now have the memories of your best friend always and forever; you gave him the best life you possibly could and now it was time to go. He is watching over you right now in Doggie Heaven, all dogs go to Heaven ~ and remember, they get to eat all the steaks in the world now, they have endless play time and nice fluffy pillows to sleep on.

    Kim, you are so sweet. The poem written above made me cry.

    Reply

  10. Kim
    Mar 10, 2010 @ 00:06:33

    Thanks, CT

    Chey found it so I posted it for her

    Reply

  11. knight owl
    Mar 10, 2010 @ 00:51:52

    oh Chey i met you at the most wonderful of places Humbles. You are such a delightful person and i always loved chatting with you. Your best friend was a lucky dog to have you and your children in his life to love and take care of him. The best gift we can ever give our pets is to love them enough to end their suffering when the time has come and allow them to go play with the children in Heaven. Butcher was a very handsome dog and i can see him just loving little Caylee and she him. Don’t worry my friend he is renewed to good health and is happy now and you will see him again when it is your time to meet him in Heaven. Take care and i will be thinking of you.

    Reply

  12. knight owl
    Mar 10, 2010 @ 00:55:56

    Kim, there is no one better than you to be chey’s or anyone else’s friend. That poem is wonderful, so wonderful and touching it made me cry. I am happy to have met you on humble’s too and love that you have your own blog so we can stay in touch. Thanks good friend for being so wonderful to us all and especially Chey in this sad time.

    Reply

  13. lynda
    Mar 10, 2010 @ 00:57:38

    Chey, I know what you’re going through. Our beloved animals are our family, our friends, and to let them go is one of the hardest things we have to go through. He’s at peace now, running with all the other beloved pets. Be strong. We miss you at Humbles. God Bless.

    Reply

  14. GODS ANGLE
    Mar 10, 2010 @ 05:17:31

    TO ALL MY DEAR FRIENDS IT MEAN SO MUCH TO ME THAT YOU CARE ABOUT ME AND MY BUTCHER I THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR BEING MY FRIENDS AND WE ALL KNOW HOW WE MET FROM A LITTLE GIRL WE ALL LOVE AND WANT JUSTICE FOR MAY CAYLEE AND BUTCHER PLAY TOGETHER AND BE HAPPY AND BE AT PEACE LOVE TO ALL MY FRIENDS AND KIM YOUR THE BEST THANK YOU

    Reply

  15. Kim
    Mar 10, 2010 @ 09:41:17

    You are all the best. Thank you for helping Chey say goodbye to her best friend. I know we have all had loss in our lives and I truly appreciate you as my friends

    Reply

  16. Monica
    Mar 10, 2010 @ 12:27:39

    Chey, I too know what you are going through. I have always believed that you can tell a lot about people by the way they treat their pets. You are a compassionate human and good friend. I am sending you my deepest, heartfelt sympathy.

    Reply

  17. Kim
    Mar 10, 2010 @ 14:39:24

    Thank you for your kind words, Monica

    Reply

  18. knight owl
    Mar 10, 2010 @ 17:56:54

    Chey, sending you lot’s of hugs today.

    Reply

  19. knight owl
    Mar 10, 2010 @ 17:57:47

    Hi Kim and all friends on here. good to see all of you but i knew you would all be here for Chey.

    Reply

  20. Kim
    Mar 10, 2010 @ 17:57:55

    Hi Knight!

    So good to see you!

    Reply

  21. GODS ANGLE
    Mar 10, 2010 @ 20:40:44

    THANK YOU SO MUCH KNIGHT OWL IM JUST TAKEING ONE DAY AT A TIME I DO MISS HIM VERY MUCH BUT I NO WHAT I DID WAS FOR THE BEST OF HIM I DO THANK ALL YOU YOU FOR BEING HERE WHEN I NEEDED FRIENDS YOU GUY ARE THE BEST AND IM SO LUCKY TO HAVE FRIENDS LIKE YOU.

    Reply

  22. knight owl
    Mar 10, 2010 @ 21:21:32

    Chey, Your so welcome . I Just wish this was not such a sad time for you. We miss our furry friends just like our human ones. They cannot talk but they communicate with us in their own sweet ways. My son and daughter in law have been through this a couple times and it is really hard . You are doing good taking it day by day. It will get better in time. I think i am lucky to know a person like you and have you as my friend.

    Reply

  23. knight owl
    Mar 10, 2010 @ 21:23:10

    Kim, thanks. it is always good to see you too. Were going to be getting bad weather later tonite. It is very warm here for March. Hope your day went well.

    Reply

  24. Kim
    Mar 10, 2010 @ 22:05:53

    It was a busy day, Knight as always. Busy is good though. My furry friends are doing their very best to get me out side but I am very upset with the state they have created in the yard. I have to wait until Saturday to do anything 😦

    Reply

  25. mixologist74
    Mar 11, 2010 @ 01:36:54

    Chey, I’m sorry to hear about the loss of your beloved Butcher. You’re in my thoughts…I hope you get to feeling better.

    Kim, beautiful poem.

    Reply

  26. Kim
    Mar 11, 2010 @ 11:11:48

    Hi Mix! I hope you are feeling good and getting some rest!!

    Thanks, but I didn’t write it, Chey found it and liked it so I posted it for her

    Reply

  27. FU
    Mar 11, 2010 @ 14:58:41

    Ok this always makes me cry but it’s so true.

    Dogs Don’t Have Souls, Do They?

    I remember bringing you home. You were so small and cuddly with your tiny paws and soft fur.
    You bounced around the room with eyes flashing and ears flopping.

    Once in a while, you’d let out a little yelp just to let me know this was your territory.

    Making a mess of the house and chewing on everything in sight became a passion and when I scolded you, you just put your head down and looked up at me with those innocent eyes as if to say: “I’m sorry, but I’ll do it again as soon as you’re not watching.”

    As you got older, you protected me by looking out the window and barking at everyone who walked by.

    When I had a tough day at work, you would be waiting for me with your tail wagging just to say, “Welcome home, I missed you.”

    You never had a bad day and I could always count on you to be there for me.

    When I sat down to read the paper and watch TV, you would hop on my lap looking for attention.

    You never asked for anything more than to have me pat your head, so you could go to sleep with your head over my leg.

    As you got older, you moved around more slowly. Then one day, old age finally took its toll, and you couldn’t stand on those wobbly legs anymore. I knelt down and patted you lying there, trying to make you young again.

    You just looked up at me as if to say you were old and tired and that after all these years of not asking for anything, you had to ask me to do one last favor.

    With tears in my eyes, I drove you one last time to the vet. One last time you were lying next to me.

    For some strange reason you were able to stand up in the animal hospital – perhaps it was your sense of pride.

    As the vet led you away, you stopped for an instant, turned your head and looked at me as if to say: “Thank you for taking care of me.”

    I thought, “No – thank YOU for taking care of ME!”

    — Charles B. Wells Jr., Palmyra, N.Y.

    Reply

  28. FU
    Mar 11, 2010 @ 14:59:38

    Of course i’m crying at work now lol!!! Good gosh i’m silly.

    Reply

  29. Kim
    Mar 11, 2010 @ 16:10:43

    o wow, FU

    That is really beautiful – and yes, I am crying too

    Thank you for that

    Reply

  30. GODS ANGLE
    Mar 11, 2010 @ 16:12:24

    FU ,OMG IM CRYING BUT YES THIS IS SO MUCH LIKE WHAT MY BUTCHER SAID TO ME THANK YOU

    Reply

  31. FU
    Mar 11, 2010 @ 16:17:56

    Well at least i’m not crying alone lol!!!

    Reply

  32. GODS ANGLE
    Mar 11, 2010 @ 16:34:44

    OK HUSBAND JUST READ AND HE SAID OMG THAT SAD BUT GOOD ONE MORE PERSON TO CRY WITH US LOL

    Reply

  33. Kim
    Mar 11, 2010 @ 16:35:58

    Kleenex! I need kleenex!!

    Reply

  34. GODS ANGLE
    Mar 11, 2010 @ 19:34:02

    KIM ,WE NEED THE BOX OF KLEENEX TO PASS OUT LOL

    Reply

  35. Kim
    Mar 11, 2010 @ 19:43:10

    i know!!

    Reply

  36. GODS ANGLE
    Mar 14, 2010 @ 06:10:00

    KIM , I LOVE YOU FOR BEING MY FRIEND AND FOR CAREING ABOUT HOW I FEEL ABOUT MY BUTCHER .AND TALKING TO ME ALL THE TIME WHEN I THOUGHT MY HEART WAS GOING TO BREAK HELPING ME DO WHAT I HAD TO DO. THANK YOU SO MUCH AND THANK YOU FOR THE BLOG FOR MY BUTCHER FOR ALL MY FRIENDS I THANK YOU FROM THE BOTTOM OF MY HEART FOR YOUR KIND WORDS.

    PS. BUTCHER THANKS YOU

    Reply

  37. Kim
    Mar 15, 2010 @ 22:59:43

    You are very very welcome, Chey. I just want you smiling again. I am glad to be your friend!

    Reply

  38. Kim
    Mar 18, 2010 @ 22:11:59

    Butcher is back home with Billie tonight, in his final resting place by her side as always

    and now forever

    Reply

Leave a Reply

