Updated updates …. for those interested

Ok … another fun filled day with doctors!

I met with Oncology and the radiation team. This does not sound like a fun time to me so I am thinking I will skip it. Thankfully since the type of cancer I have is a local one radiation seems unnecessary in any event.  The MRI is scheduled for Jan. 25 so this should be interesting.

All of this is new territory for me so I see it as a new adventure every day.  It isn’t exactly an adventure I would seek out or recommend to friends but it is the one I am on so I intend to learn as much as I can while dealing with it.

20 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. midgesmom
    Jan 12, 2011 @ 21:47:06

    Kim, good luck and I will keep you in my prayers. Keep a good sense of humor it helps. My girlfriend had cancer and had lost a lot of weight (she had always been on the heavyside). While shopping one day we ran into a former workplace friend and she mentioned my friends weight loss and asked if she was on special diet….my friend responded ya diet by cancer…I don’t recommended it !

    Reply

    • Kim
      Jan 12, 2011 @ 22:22:23

      Your friend sounds like my kind of lady midgesmom!! I was given a run down of all
      I could expect but was told they can’t give me just the ones I want – I was hoping for weight loss – she was talking tooth loss

      ew

      Reply

  2. Venice
    Jan 12, 2011 @ 22:09:50

    Kim,
    You have friends who care! All the best on Jan.25th!!! Love you~~~~~

    Reply

  3. Kim
    Jan 12, 2011 @ 22:26:35

    Reply

  4. diana
    Jan 12, 2011 @ 22:27:21

    *Kim

    Is this an outpatient procedure or will you be hospitalized? I just always think if it’s an outpatient procedure, it’s not so bad. Please keep us informed. ~Diana

    Reply

    • Kim
      Jan 12, 2011 @ 22:31:44

      Due to the location of the tumor – my right eye involving the tear duct I am expecting to be over night only. I don’t have insurance so they tend to toss those like me out the door ASAP.

      Reply

  5. Diana
    Jan 12, 2011 @ 23:33:25

    Awwww…….You will be ok. I know you are worried sick, and it’s on your mind 24/7 but it’s amazing what they can fix these days. Please be strong and know that all your blogging buddies will be praying and thinking of you.
    By the time the trial starts in May….You will be good to go again!

    Reply

  6. MeMa52
    Jan 13, 2011 @ 11:50:38

    Kim…morning…so glad I came over to check on you…I’m keeping you in my daily prayers and will continue to do so until you’re good health returns…stay strong and keep uplifting and loving people surrounding you…that means all of us here too…strap on your battle gear and fight on…my son said last year that he felt like a soldier in the war with cancer…his 30th birthday was yesterday (thank you Lord) and his CT scan came back clean as a whistle…doctors in Indy told him if the first scan came back good they don’t need to see any more…(thank you again Lord)…I always say that my lonely prayer to God is just a whisper but when a group of us pray it more like a chant…glad that you are educating yourself along the way…I could write a book about “uninsured in America fighting cancer”…it would be a best selling nightmare…we contacted our Congressman and finally got aide…need any help with any of it …email me and I would be glad to give you any help I could render…my son did a journal in art instead of writing…(he’s a tattoo artist specializing in portraits) and was so glad he did…I’m praying for you Kim…my mom (God bless her soul) would always say this to me if I was afraid to do something….”Annette, put your chin up, your tits out and walk right in to your fear.” Most times I found that it was nothing I couldn’t handle..

    Reply

    • Kim
      Jan 13, 2011 @ 14:36:51

      MeMa! I am so so so happy to hear about your son!! He is now a health warrior!! Thank you for keeping me in your thoughts and prayers. I will be doing my own battle here!

      I will be emailing you for advice so be looking for it!

      Reply

      • MeMa52
        Jan 14, 2011 @ 11:05:46

        Kim…any way I can help I am here for you….FIRST thing is get any money more than $200 out of any of your bank accounts as soon as possible before filing for any assistance…then file for anything and everything you can in the way of aid….my son’s bills total $253,000…he qualified for medicaid and this amount was NOT picked up…I think this was just as big a fight as the cancer was, sorry to say…like I said I wrote my Congressman and he made things happen…but medicaid would not pick up the beginning tests and treatment due to his monetary statements…Very important to wipe out these accounts FIRST…Most important thing I learned was to play broke and stay broke…we’ll work on anything else you need in regard to assistance as we go along…<3 ❤

  7. FU
    Jan 13, 2011 @ 11:57:42

    Kim is the MRI a open or enclosed unit. It makes a difference to me I am a bit wierd about being in a tight space. lol so I play games. Spelling all my families names or spelling all the states or what ever it helps me. But you are so much more balanced then me. :LOL:

    Reply

  8. Kim
    Jan 13, 2011 @ 14:38:19

    FU!! Get your car back yet?

    I don’t know if it is open or closed – I am just hoping it is a tad more comfy than the dang CT was!

    I am also beginning to look like a colorful pin cushion!!

    Me – balanced? lmao

    Reply

  9. FU
    Jan 13, 2011 @ 17:18:39

    Car is still in the shop driving rent a car ford focus.
    You will look like a pin cushion and an ad for bandaid lol.
    They are not more comfortable and the pounding sound will drive you crazy. Have them put a cushion under your knees that will help with the comfort some. About the balanced part LMAO as well.

    Reply

  10. Andrea
    Jan 13, 2011 @ 21:20:20

    Kim, you have such a great outlook about this and I just know that your positiveness is going to serve you well and kick that cancer right in the ole arse!

    You have tons of friends here who will all be praying for you, too! We won’t let you down, my friend.

    Reply

    • Kim
      Jan 13, 2011 @ 22:17:36

      I feel the same about all of my friends here – and you know who you are!

      I am positive it will work out great and I am planning on making it as good as it can be – but I will not promise there will be no whining

      Reply

  11. Venice
    Jan 13, 2011 @ 23:10:32

    Andrea is very correct Kim! We are here to lend as much support as you need!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

