Post surgical update

Today was my first visit to the Doctor since my surgery. She is pleased with the progress and removed some of the stitches. I will see the ophthalmologist on Friday to do the evaluation on my eyeball. It is healthy but it has been very stressed by all of this. There was a short period of time (VERY short) where removing the eyeball was discussed. I refused the offer – it is after all part of a set.

22 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Venice
    Feb 23, 2011 @ 16:13:41

    Oh, Kim, I am so sorry you are going through this 😦 I will continue to pray for you everyday!

    Reply

    • Kim
      Feb 23, 2011 @ 16:31:32

      I kept the eyeball, Venice. I am rather attached to it – have had it for a few years now.

      I think the surgeon who said it to me was looking for a shock effect and didn’t realize he would be dealing with me. I won’t simply sit back and agree – you better have a DAMN good reason for doing any of it

      Reply

  2. Kim
    Feb 23, 2011 @ 16:41:23

    I also LOST 3 POUNDS!!!!!

    Reply

  3. Sherry
    Feb 23, 2011 @ 16:46:13

    Yeah, Kim, and it ain’t easy to find a match to the only other one! Its not like fine china and trying to find a replacement teacup…

    Reply

  4. annie
    Feb 23, 2011 @ 16:49:13

    HI KIM L HOPE ALL IS WELL.DID YOU COME BACK FROM THE DOCTOR?JUST REST DONT BE JUMPING AT EVERY COMMENT .DO IT WHEN YOU FEEL BETTER.YOU WILL BE IN MY PRAYERS AND TAKE CARE OKAY?L TALK TO YOU LATER.ANNIE.

    Reply

    • Kim
      Feb 23, 2011 @ 16:54:06

      Thanks annie, yes I am home now. I am getting ready for my first nap of the day. I have been informed by a doctor tha no less than 2 naps per day is my requirement!

      Reply

  5. EDRN
    Feb 23, 2011 @ 18:21:44

    Yea for you Kim! 3 lbs and an quick recovery. You are truly blessed.

    Reply

  6. Laurali
    Feb 23, 2011 @ 18:59:01

    Actually Kim you can get them at Target! LOL. I am glad you still have your sense of humor, there is some things they just can’t take away from us. I am glad you are on the mend. Thanks for allowing all of us to go thru this with you. It is a learning exp. for all of us.

    Reply

  7. Andrea
    Feb 23, 2011 @ 21:39:58

    I love this great news,,,yay!!!

    But, your eyeball? Will your vision be affected? Will you end up with limited vision in that eye?

    Reply

    • Kim
      Feb 23, 2011 @ 21:47:43

      The eye is in excellent condition, vision is the same as it has been for 20 years. the eyelid needs to heal more and tighten up some to make everything more comfy but it is all good, no worries

      Reply

  8. Louise Fell
    Feb 24, 2011 @ 12:20:56

    Kim; after all you wouldn’t want to be lobsided would you. The power of your humour will beat the cancer, foreget the knife action. I don’t blame you one bit. Once it’s gone, well it means a whole lot more fiddling to fit the new eyeball and I suppose much more in the way of costs too. I can’t see your govt. covering that kind of thing.

    Good girl, you really swung at bat and took the operaiton and hit the ball out of the park. I’m proud of you friend.

    Reply

    • Kim
      Feb 24, 2011 @ 14:10:44

      Thank you so very much, Weezie. Yor friendship and support mean a lot to me!

      I believe we have to work with what we are given and humor is what I have. Besides – I wasn’t about to let some anonymous Dr come in and tell me!!

      Reply

  9. Kim
    Feb 26, 2011 @ 16:44:23

    Reply

  10. Kim
    Feb 26, 2011 @ 16:56:32

    Reply

  11. Kim
    Feb 26, 2011 @ 17:11:05

    Reply

Leave a Reply

