And the Verdict is …

So, what happened? I didn’t watch. Like a friend of mine said yesterday – there are better things to do at 10 pm, like sleep. I took her advice – Thanks Venice!!

CBS News had defense consultant Richard Gabriel run the group, which undermines the whole point of an egregious exercise.

http://blogs.orlandosentinel.com/entertainment_tv_tvblog/2011/04/casey-anthony-48-hours-mystery-guilty-of-foolishness.html

61 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kim
    Apr 17, 2011 @ 12:20:40

    But Bondi and Kenney Baden seemed to agree that Anthony is her own worst enemy.

    Reply

  2. Kim
    Apr 17, 2011 @ 12:35:52

    Here you can see it if you haven’t. I haven’t as of yet

    http://www.cbsnews.com/sections/48hours/main3410.shtml

    Reply

  3. Kim
    Apr 17, 2011 @ 12:45:09

    And who TOOK it to the media?!!

    Asked if Casey can get a fair trial, Baez tells “48 Hours Mystery” correspondent Troy Roberts, “I don’t know.”

    Baez’s concern is finding jurors who he feels haven’t been swayed by the constant reports of seemingly solid evidence against Casey Anthony – media coverage that has been going nonstop for nearly three years.

    “It’s very challenging to find people who can be fair and impartial because of the attention that this case has gotten,” he explains.

    Reply

    • Hilde
      Apr 17, 2011 @ 13:17:48

      Baez on this 48 hr. segment basically showed that it is possible to come up with 12 or more Jurors they need for the Trial who can be fair and impartial in spite of the Media Coverage. The People he had on the Mock Jury were from Orlando, Fl. I don’t understand why he keeps on complaining about it.

      Reply

      • Kim
        Apr 17, 2011 @ 13:23:32

        Good for Baez!!

        Proves once again he is an idiot!

      • Sherry
        Apr 17, 2011 @ 13:53:33

        Baez best find that jury from the place HHJP has picked or HHJP may say, “to Orlando we go!”

        Although the show was clearly slanted in Casey’s favor I thought the points brought up were lame-like Kobilinski saying there was no DNA on the duct tape-ofcourse not! It decomposed!

      • Kim
        Apr 17, 2011 @ 13:55:26

        Wouldn’t Baez just fill his pants if he finds out Judge Perry is selecting the jury from Orlando!!!

  4. Venice
    Apr 17, 2011 @ 13:07:06

    I did not watch. Waste of time.

    Reply

  5. Hilde
    Apr 17, 2011 @ 13:11:19

    After thinking about it over and over I decided to watch the 48 Hr. Segment last night.
    I must say I was pleasantly surprised.
    The Program covered the Events as they played out in that Case from the Beginning as we know it till the present.
    Both Sides, the State and the Defense were covered. Ex-Prosecutor Paula Bondi did a very good Job in presenting her Opinion on this Case. It also gave a Insight to were the Defense most likely is going with this Case.
    Casey’s family and her Upbringing will play a role in the upcoming Trial in my Opinion.
    When it came to the Mock Trial, I don’t believe we should take that too serious for the simple fact that the Jury Consultant is on the Defense team and most likely the Jurors for this Segment were picked by the Defense, so it really has not much importance at this time what they came up with. Most of these so called Jurors came up with a Accident Theory, that is what the Defense also likes us to believe.
    Myself I will wait till the Trial and the real Jurors
    who will be selected by both the State and the Defense.
    Overall I will say in my Opinion this 48 Hr. Segment was done well!
    I was prepared for the worst, it did turn out better than I thought.

    Reply

    • Kim
      Apr 17, 2011 @ 13:26:06

      I agree it had to be biased by the fact it was defense’s hand picked group.

      I just don’t see an accident defense going very far. No one would stay in jail for 3 years if it had been an accident – besides – duct tape decries any accident theory in my mind

      Reply

      • Hilde
        Apr 17, 2011 @ 13:35:50

        Kim, “duct tape decries any accident theory” that is the exact Point Ex-Prosecutor Paula Bondi made about the Duct tape last night.

  6. Kim
    Apr 17, 2011 @ 13:40:12

    I wish they would get this show on the road! I was diagnosed with cancer, treated for cancer and am recovered from cancer and this mess is still out there!!!

    lol – sorry, just frushtrated 😉

    Reply

    • Hilde
      Apr 17, 2011 @ 13:55:54

      no need to be sorry, I get it really. Just so glad You are doing better.
      This Case is so frustrating, sometimes I have to take a break from it and regroup, stand back from this Situation to be able to look at it again with a clear Vision.
      Too many People tried to distort the facts as we know them. They had three yrs to do so. I haven’t forgotten about Caylee despite of all the Confusion the Defense and others try to stir up.

      Reply

    • Sherry
      Apr 17, 2011 @ 13:56:37

      I’m with you! I still wonder if the trial will get started as scheduled. Baez has his ways to delay…

      Reply

      • Kim
        Apr 17, 2011 @ 14:01:08

        I really think Judge Perry will keep it on track. Baez has stalled all this time and it is down to the wire now

        I wonder if Casey can hear that big clock yet?

        tic toc tic toc

    • katydid
      Apr 17, 2011 @ 15:01:57

      Sorry to hear about your cancer. I was diagnosed with breast cancer when I was 33. The treatment was a nightmare; so much so that my kidneys have now failed and I am on dialysis.

      Reply

      • Kim
        Apr 17, 2011 @ 15:06:42

        I am sorry to hear that, katydid! We don’t realize what we had until our health goes. I am cancer free right now. I was luck in that it was a basal cell skin cancer and they were able to get it all. I was able to keep my eye but my pretty face will never be the same.

        It is nothing like being on dialysis, nothing like it at all

  7. Mysty
    Apr 17, 2011 @ 13:59:17

    How would the mock jury come up with an accident?? There is no evidence of an accident!! Caylee’s remains were recovered in the woods in a laundry, plastic bag and duct type around her little skull. That to me does not scream accident. Now the only people that can tell LE about an accident is the nanny or Casey. Since LE cannot find any evidence of the real nanny, Casey would be the only person to say what the accident was and we all know she’s not talking!

    Reply

  8. artgal16
    Apr 17, 2011 @ 14:29:36

    I watched it as well. However, my question is, is the total charge against Casey only Murder in the First Degree or can the jury find her
    guilty of some lesser charge? I think
    she is guilty as sin and I would find her guilty in the first degree but Id had to see her walk if that was the only charge. Anyone know?

    Reply

    • Kim
      Apr 17, 2011 @ 14:33:23

      Casey Anthony was arrested for the third time on September 15, 2008, on new charges of theft,[19] and was released shortly afterward.[20]

      On October 14, 2008, Casey Anthony was indicted by a grand jury on charges of first-degree murder and was arrested for the fourth time.[21] She entered a plea of not-guilty to the charges that she killed Caylee.[20]

      On October 21, 2008, the charges of child neglect were dropped against Casey. In a statement that morning, the State Attorney’s Office explained: “The neglect charges were premised on the theory that her child, Caylee Marie, was still alive. As the investigation progressed and it became clear that the evidence proved that the child was deceased, the State sought an indictment on the legally appropriate charges.”[22] On April 14, 2009, prosecutors announced that they plan to seek the death penalty in this case.[23] Casey Anthony and her family maintain that she is innocent of all charges.

      Reply

    • Kim
      Apr 17, 2011 @ 14:40:57

      Reply

  9. CptKD
    Apr 17, 2011 @ 16:47:58

    Like many others, I DID watch the program, as Saturday nights are usually 48Hours night around here.

    Though I do speak of this case around the house, I decided last night, to say nothing while the show aired, so as to give Sue a chance to re-visit this case, without my interjections.

    I asked her to please watch the show, objectively and without RE-CALL of anything I may have said regarding this case in the past…

    At the end, I of course asked her what her opinion would have been had she been on the ‘Mock Jury’, and her reply, without hesitation was, “GUILTY of 1st Degree CAPITAL MURDER!”

    She actually LAUGHED at the ‘Jurys’ decision, and said that they all seemed ‘coached’ to respond as they did.
    She noted that when they were asked, what the had decided on based on whatever evidence was provided to them, that they all seemed to look at each other, and then, “follow the next guys move.”

    With the exception on those who stayed ‘seated’, when asked both times, she strongly felt that it had been “REHEARSED”, and planned to play out like it did.

    The ending appeared to be just “thrown in” for good measure so as to not APPEAR ‘pro-Defence’…

    I so believe, and agree with Sue’s assessment.

    To further that, and to clearly identify what my overall thoughts and feelings were towards this –

    Andrea has written a fantastic post about the show and how it played out.

    She has definately delivered, and mirrored what I thought the show resulted in presenting to the people.

    All I can say is “Good luck, Inmate ANTHONY”!

    “Your day is coming!
    And your so-called ‘DEFENCE TEAM’…
    Which is major-ly lacking in the area of having,
    a REAL defense, is thrashing about in the water, and just about ready to SINK YOU!”

    In but a couple months, she will become nothing but a ‘footnote in history!

    The way I see it, she may just as well “Consider herself DONE!”

    (I can’t wait – For this WEIGHT, to finally be lifted!)
    CptKD

    Reply

    • Kim
      Apr 17, 2011 @ 17:04:00

      I read Andrea’s post ans indeed she nailed it – again. She has wonderful insight.

      Not only were they coached but they were paid. It was completely Baez’s show. That is why I didn’t watch. I know what he is trying to do and he does it so very badly. He is lame and obvious. Mason is decrepit and desperate.

      Casey is toast

      Reply

  10. Venice
    Apr 17, 2011 @ 17:13:18

    Oh, I slept soooo good last night 😉

    Reply

    • Kim
      Apr 17, 2011 @ 17:16:53

      Me too!!! It was breezy and cool …

      Wonderful sleep right up until my cell beeped at me and my bosses Doberman jammed his giant nose in my face

      Reply

      • Venice
        Apr 17, 2011 @ 17:39:11

        You have a Dobie??? My fiancee’ has one too, but the dog stays on the Indian Reservation in North Dakota!!! Beautiful Dogs!!!! I have a 1/2 Belgium German Shepherd and 1/2 Timberwolf. Beautiful!!

      • Kim
        Apr 17, 2011 @ 17:48:00

        I have a dobie until 8 pm tonight – he is my bosses dog. She went out of town so he is with me since he scares the crap outta everyone else

      • Venice
        Apr 17, 2011 @ 18:01:34

        Yeah, our Dobie does scare everyone! LOL!! So does my Shepherd!

      • Kim
        Apr 17, 2011 @ 18:03:03

        He is a giant mush ball

  11. Kim
    Apr 17, 2011 @ 17:25:29

    Reply

    • Kim
      Apr 17, 2011 @ 17:27:13

      CBS 48 Hours also STATES THEY COMMISSIONED the focus group. Are we clear on that? CBS has outright admitted to contributing to the costs of the defense expenditures of Casey Anthony. That is a source of income to this defendant, period.

      Reply

    • Hilde
      Apr 17, 2011 @ 17:37:42

      very interesting Read and Food for Thought!
      Were is the Justice in all of that! It just seems to be a big Game and who plays the Game the Best wins, doesn’t seem to matter what the Truth is. It’s very discouraging to see what is and has been done by the Defense in this Case.
      Really it is sickening! It also seems to come back to who can gain from this Tragedy, never mind the Victim, she doesn’t seem to matter anymore. Very sad!

      Reply

  12. Kim
    Apr 17, 2011 @ 20:01:56

    Reply

  13. CptKD
    Apr 18, 2011 @ 12:12:17

    NOT sure if you have had a chance to read Dr. Glass’ latest post on the 48hrs program, aired this past Saturday night…
    Thought I’d bring the link over:

    (Definately worth the read)

    http://drlillianglassbodylanguageblog.wordpress.com/2011/04/18/casey-anthony-jury-consultant-seen-on-48-hours-only-did-%e2%80%9cfocus-group%e2%80%9d-which-acquitted-casey-anthony-not-a-%e2%80%9cmock-trial%e2%80%9d-which-may-have-given-a-different-result/#comment-5895

    Reply

  14. FU
    Apr 18, 2011 @ 12:59:45

    Good Morning all.

    What’s coming next? I wake up every morning now and ask myself what is coming up next for this trial.. I would find it funny if a sweet little girl named Caylee had not lost her life at the hands of her mother Casey.

    Reply

  15. Kim
    Apr 19, 2011 @ 10:46:19

    Casey Anthony’s defense team has revealed evidence they may use at trial next month — including video shot by a Local 6 News photographer.

    http://www.clickorlando.com/news/27591815/detail.html

    Reply

    • Sherry
      Apr 19, 2011 @ 13:33:16

      From that article:

      “However, the defense could also suggest that Caylee Anthony’s kidnapper stole the duct tape from the table and planted it with the body in the woods to frame her family for the murder.”

      What a stretch~I think playing the jury for stupid is gonna be the DT’s strategy.

      Reply

  16. Kim
    Apr 19, 2011 @ 12:52:34

    The defense team said the volunteers searched the area on Suburban Drive where Caylee’s remains were found.

    But, according to the depositions, all five said they never searched the area. They said they didn’t even get out of the car.

    http://www.wftv.com/news/27595074/detail.html

    Reply

  17. Kim
    Apr 19, 2011 @ 12:56:21

    Reply

  18. CptKD
    Apr 19, 2011 @ 16:42:21

    I can only assume…
    That from here, we are going to see alot of “grasping at straws” from the Defence team.

    The dawn of May 9th, is fast approaching, and they still don’t have a leg to stand on.

    That is, in my opinion, of course -LOL!

    I don’t know…
    But one would ‘think’, that Miss Inmate Anthony must be starting to sweat bullets!

    Unless she really thinks, that Baez is REALLY going to get her out of this mess, I’d think she’d be a worried mess right about now.

    I know if that were me, I’d be scared “sugar-less”!

    Think I’d be begging for a plea deal!

    Reply

  19. Kim
    Apr 19, 2011 @ 18:13:51

    I have to think that after all this time Casey truly does believe Baez will save her sorry ass. She has been asked and has sworn to her satisfaction of representation.
    I think she is a fool but then again, that goes without saying

    Reply

  20. Kim
    Apr 19, 2011 @ 18:28:27

    There was more troubling information about how journalists inserted themselves into the legal process. In effect, “48 Hours Mystery” was making news rather than reporting it.

    http://blogs.orlandosentinel.com/entertainment_tv_tvblog/2011/04/casey-anthony-48-hours-mystery-makes-news-in-a-troubling-way.html

    Reply

    • Kim
      Apr 19, 2011 @ 18:30:03

      “But Gabriel, who donates his services to Anthony’s defense team, was allowed to share with them [defense attorneys Jose Baez and Cheney Mason] detailed results from the CBS focus group,” DeForest said.

      Reply

  21. FU
    Apr 19, 2011 @ 22:21:02

    Now they want someone to get on the stand and tell Casey’s story without her getting on the stand. The mental health experts were to be used for that but they are out now. Can they legally do that have someone else tell the defendants story? All in an effort to keep her from being question on the stand.

    Reply

    • Kim
      Apr 20, 2011 @ 12:44:29

      We all know he is sleazy – this can’t fly, it would be considered hearsay unless Casey takes the stand and verifies it

      Reply

  22. CptKD
    Apr 19, 2011 @ 23:07:37

    No! That would be hearsay, and hearsay is NOT admissable in a Court of Law. At least thats how it works in CANADA, and I venture to say it is the same in the United States.

    Reply

  23. FU
    Apr 19, 2011 @ 23:55:52

    Thank You CptKD I just can’t get over all the crap they are trying.

    Reply

  24. CptKD
    Apr 20, 2011 @ 12:13:07

    I hear you –

    I really can’t wait for things to get started…

    And finally come to an end, and be done with!

    Inmate Anthony finally SENTENCED, and the TRUE and FINAL act of

    JUSTICE FOR CAYLEE MARIE be with this precious angel!

    That it brings a resting peace, and a soothing quite to the rest of us…Deep in the hearts of those who supported everything ,and anything ONLY FOR – This beautiful, little girl!

    Let her finally REST IN PEACE!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

