Input please

I am unsure about the formatting of this blog style for the trial. It seems like there is a lot of bouncing around to read all the comments, but that is me. I want to know what you think. Please – tell me how we can streamline it so we can all be comfortable and find what we want easily and be able to respond how we like to!

40 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kim
    May 12, 2011 @ 21:53:38

    WordPress has a lot of different formats and when I have time I will be trying on a few. I will be looking for your opinions and I really want ya’ll to be honest

    Reply

    • CptKD
      May 12, 2011 @ 22:49:53

      Honest, I so shall be!

      So when are you starting?

      Reply

      • Kim
        May 12, 2011 @ 22:51:45

        Probably tomorrow – I will be looking and trying them on most of the day into the evening so if there are attributes to one format that you like speak up.

      • CptKD
        May 12, 2011 @ 22:54:09

        I like how you can REPLY on a REPLY,
        but it seems like it’s THAT, that makes a mess,
        and gets difficult to read, and keep up with.

        Unless you check to see WHO’s left messages,
        it’s hard to know who wrote what where…

        If that makes any sense!

        I’m not sure if I’m explaining myself,
        in the way that I mean…. Helpppp!

  2. Kim
    May 12, 2011 @ 22:52:07

    Do you like the reply aspect?

    Reply

  3. CptKD
    May 12, 2011 @ 22:59:50

    The ‘REPLY’ only comes on certain ‘REPLY’s.
    And that’s where it gets wierd, cause then someone wants to answer something, but they have to go to the previous box above, through the grape-vine, and seek out the box that allows them to REPLY.

    It gets confusing, especially when you start getting lots of REPLIES on Reply’s – Ya know?

    Reply

  4. CptKD
    May 12, 2011 @ 23:55:25

    I mean, having the REPLY as an option is really convenient, but is there a way to clean it up some?

    To have it, but in a different sort of set up?

    Reply

  5. CptKD
    May 13, 2011 @ 00:00:54

    I guess without REPLY –
    Anyone wanting to specifically address a prior response, could either reference the post, via name, date and time and/or copy and paste.

    That would make it more orderly, but doesn’t have the convenience of simply hitting REPLY, which technically you can’t always REPLY on the actual post you’re intending.

    I don’t know, Kim –
    I can’t see what you’re working with or what your options are, so that makes it hard for me to figure the set up.

    Reply

  6. Sherry
    May 13, 2011 @ 01:06:52

    On the one hand, the replies are nice and convenient-you don’t have to constantly c&p in order to answer a certain commentor. On the other hand, even with updates through the emails, it gets confusing! Like, what is that reply to? Then I end up coming back her anyhoo to see why what was said was said. :mrgreen:

    I do like this theme though. WP sure has alot of nice ones! May I ask that the white print on black background not be used? Its hard on old eyes-lol! :mrgreen:

    Reply

  7. Kim
    May 13, 2011 @ 08:26:27

    Good stuff, Thanks!!

    Maybe a single reply to a post and a softer color for the back ground

    Reply

  8. Kim
    May 13, 2011 @ 11:22:29

    I think I like this one.

    What do ya’ll think?

    Reply

  9. Kim
    May 13, 2011 @ 11:23:20

    is it branching?

    Reply

  10. CptKD
    May 13, 2011 @ 11:40:00

    No BRANCHING that I can see –

    I like it, Kim!

    I’m going to go back up, and reply on
    one of Sherry’s latest comments, and see
    what happens…

    Reply

  11. CptKD
    May 13, 2011 @ 11:44:29

    So, no branch –

    It simply puts your comment below,
    and gives the new msg, a ‘Reply’ option.

    So you need to check the times when
    reading through the responses, because
    the answer below what you’re reading
    might be from a different time –
    If that makes any kind of sense…

    I like this way better though – I must say!

    It’s alot more organized and tidy!

    Good Work!

    Reply

  12. Kim
    May 13, 2011 @ 11:45:48

    I also have the recent comments on the right so we can see who commented and replied

    Reply

  13. CptKD
    May 13, 2011 @ 11:47:58

    NO option to reply on it though!

    Kind of ends it there, no?

    Reply

  14. CptKD
    May 13, 2011 @ 11:48:58

    So what it boils down to…
    Is the more you REPLY on a response,
    the more chances of BRANCHES!

    Reply

  15. CptKD
    May 13, 2011 @ 11:52:04

    We just won’t do that –
    Unless absolutely necessary, we won’t
    keep replying on previous responses…

    So we just need to make sure that we
    check the time on the replies to
    see if that reply, is IN response to the
    previous notation, or if it is, in fact, a new
    response to the actual post, or topic.

    I think I got it!

    Reply

  16. CptKD
    May 13, 2011 @ 11:53:57

    Now, I think I just ‘ka-fuckled’ things!

    Reply

  17. CptKD
    May 13, 2011 @ 11:57:17

    You just caused a BRANCH
    in doing whatever it is you did!

    Reply

    • Kim
      May 13, 2011 @ 11:59:31

      interesting

      Well, let’s try working with this one for a while and see how we like it. I need Sherry to pop in and let me know if the back ground works for her. In the mean time I will nose around and see if I can remove the branching without removing the reply

      Reply

  18. Kim
    May 13, 2011 @ 12:01:45

    I like that, Cap! 3 replies and it stops – what do you think

    Reply

  19. CptKD
    May 13, 2011 @ 12:03:13

    If you notice, the finaly branch
    is bordered in red, as opposed to
    the usual light grey…

    I find this easier on the eyes,
    but she’ll definately be the ‘teller’
    of that one…

    Ok – I’m going to watch a bit of
    the jury selection, seeing as they’ve
    just come back from break…

    Back in a bit!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

