resolution

A New Year resolution is a commitment that an individual makes to one or more lasting personal goals, projects, or the reforming of a habit.

While I tend to like to start any changes I need in my life on a specific calendar date it is usually my birthday that I chose. It is only two days after the new year begins but it has a more personal meaning to me and hence more impact on my progress.

Last year I resolved to quit smoking. I had a very personal reason for this – I was having cancer surgery on my face in February. My surgeons all told me it was imperative that I stop for healing purposes. My lead cancer surgeon even told me he didn’t care if I took it right back up after I healed!! Imagine! (of course, he absolutely reeked of cigarettes while he was telling me this).
I did manage to stay off of them and January 2nd is the first anniversary of my quitting.
Since the quitting AND the surgery I managed to pack on far too many pounds and this will be the resolution I make for myself for 2012 – well, one of them.

What I am curious about is how many of you make resolutions and manage to keep them? Why do you make them?

What was the best resolution you ever made?

23 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sherry
    Dec 26, 2011 @ 10:59:30

    The only resolution I’ve ever kept was when I resolved not to make any, lol! I add to that trying to be careful not to say I will do something that I may not be able to do! I love helping people out but since my health went downhill it is very hard to do because I do very little driving now.

    Congrats on the one year anniversary of smobriety! Losing weight is my goal, too, so the best to you in that. I learned a nifty trick: take whatever your ideal weight is and add a zero to that and you will see how many calories to take in in a day. I want to weigh 110 so 1100 calories will be my intake. And, boy howdy! that’s not easy! I wish I were like my hubs-he eats twice what I do and it goes straight through him. ๐Ÿ˜• ๐Ÿ˜†

    Reply

  2. Kim
    Dec 26, 2011 @ 11:18:19

    My best bet for weight loss is to remove or dramatically reduce carbs. I lost over 100 lbs that way ten years ago

    Thanks for the congrats!!

    Reply

  3. Kim
    Dec 26, 2011 @ 11:23:00

    What we have Sherry, is known as an ‘efficient metabolism’. Basically it means we are very good at storing fat and we have a better chance of survival!!

    Reply

  4. Kim
    Dec 26, 2011 @ 13:12:05

    Girl, I could survive for nearly a year on what I am carrying now – but I have to change it, I am tired of being tired. I am sick of fat lady clothes when I have a closet FULL of gorgeous things!!

    It is time!!

    or it will be soon

    1 week and a day

    :mrgreen:

    Reply

  5. Kim
    Dec 26, 2011 @ 13:18:43

    Random thoughts on the passing scene:

    Talk show host Dennis Miller said, “I don’t dig polo. It’s like miniature golf meets the Kentucky Derby.”

    Nothing illustrates the superficiality of our times better than the enthusiasm for electric cars, because they are supposed to greatly reduce air pollution. But the electricity that ultimately powers these cars has to be generated somewhere โ€” and nearly half the electricity generated in this country is generated by burning coal.

    http://www.creators.com/conservative/thomas-sowell/random-thoughts-11-12-27.html

    Reply

    • Kim
      Dec 26, 2011 @ 13:22:20

      Theou – see this?

      and nearly half the electricity generated in this country is generated by burning coal.

      Reply

      • Kim
        Dec 26, 2011 @ 13:23:20

        and this as well, Theou

        In recent times, Christmas has brought not only holiday cheer but also attacks on the very word “Christmas,” chasing it from the vocabulary of institutions and even from most “holiday cards.” Like many other social crusades, this one is based on a lie โ€” namely that the Constitution puts a wall of separation between church and state. It also shows how easily intimidated we are by strident zealots.

    • Kim
      Dec 26, 2011 @ 13:26:02

      Of all the arguments for giving amnesty to illegal immigrants, the most foolish is the argument that we can’t find and expel all of them. There is not a law on the books that someone has not violated, including laws against murder, and we certainly have not found and prosecuted all the violators โ€” whether murderers or traffic law violators. But do we then legalize all the illegalities we haven’t been able to detect and prosecute?

      Reply

    • Sherry
      Dec 26, 2011 @ 13:44:34

      That reminds me of the Home and Garden shows where they are ripping a home’s interior apart to replace it with eco friendly products. Outside the house is a big ol’ blue dumpster waiting to be filled up with the old stuff and taken to the landfill. Oh, yeah! That’s being Green! :mrgreen:

      Reply

      • Kim
        Dec 26, 2011 @ 14:03:19

        I think – and have experienced – being green through conservation as opposed to being green through denial of human nature. Living on a farm is a wonderful way to live green.

        I could teach classes on it!

  6. Kim
    Dec 26, 2011 @ 14:21:36

    Little Johnny goes to his dad and asks, “What is politics?” Dad says, “Well son, let me try to explain it this way. I’m the breadwinner of the family, so let’s call me Capitalism. Mommy is the administrator of the money, so we’ll call her the Government. We’re here to take care of your needs, so we’ll call you The People. The nanny, well, consider her The Working Class. Your baby brother, we’ll ca…ll him The Future. Now go think about this and see if it makes sense.”

    So the little boy goes off to bed thinking about what Dad has said. Later that night, he hears his baby brother crying and runs to his room only to find that his diapers are very soiled. So the little boy goes to his parents’ room. Mom is sound asleep. Not wanting to wake her, he goes to the nanny’s room. Finding the door locked, he looks through the peephole and sees his father in bed with the nanny. He gives up and goes back to bed.

    The next morning, the little boy says to his father, “Dad, I think I understand what politics is now.”

    “Good son, tell me in your own words then what politics are.”

    The little boy replies, “Well, while Capitalism is screwing the Working Class, the Government is sound asleep, the People are being ignored and the Future is in deep shit

    Reply

  7. savannahsnanny
    Dec 26, 2011 @ 15:50:13

    Hi ya Kim and her peeps.
    My resolutions will be…1) STOP SMOKING, 2) lose 25 lbs, 3) try to get “out” of the house, 4)taking care of my suspended license (3 yrs. ago for speeding) 5) going to the dentist, 6)cut down on my drinking, 7) try to be social again, 8) stop being so sensitive 9) try to “do” some form of exercise everyday 10)” Letting go…and letting God”.

    Reply

    • Kim
      Dec 26, 2011 @ 16:01:17

      Hmmmm

      lets see

      drinking is social ๐Ÿ˜‰ come on over

      we will lose weight together

      eh, speeding – who doesn’t

      the DENTIST?!?!

      I love you Junie Moon

      Reply

      • savannahsnanny
        Dec 26, 2011 @ 16:04:13

        Tried to call you last night!!!
        Fell 2 yrs ago…landing on my face broke all my front teeth!

      • Kim
        Dec 26, 2011 @ 16:20:36

        I remember, girl

        sorry I missed your call – I was sick to death of football and went to bed

  8. Kim
    Dec 26, 2011 @ 15:59:36

    Reply

  9. savannahsnanny
    Dec 26, 2011 @ 16:39:39

    Kim check your phone Gab snapped a photo of me and Savs and sent it to your phone ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply

  10. Kim
    Dec 26, 2011 @ 16:43:04

    How cuteeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee

    TY Junie!!

    Reply

    • savannahsnanny
      Dec 26, 2011 @ 17:07:36

      Thank you Kim…I was soooo proud of myself…2 holidays in a row at Gabi…Thankgiving=4hrs…last night= 6 1/2 hrs…I think I’mgoing to get out more hopefully…tomorrow Doc comming at 1pm…I never got the blood work or the breast sonogram…I told him and hes mad but will order it done at home for me…keep your fingers crossed for a negative sonogram…sofar the memogrophy was positive, thats why the sonogram…I think Iam scared ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

      Reply

  11. Kim
    Dec 26, 2011 @ 17:29:14

    It will be fine and you are doing so very well!

    he need not be angry, he needs to support you more

    Reply

  12. Kitt
    Dec 26, 2011 @ 19:30:07

    Kim, big fat congrats on kicking the habit!!! That is one of my goals, but I haven’t set a specific date yet (scared of letting go. I had quit for 7 years. Got married, became a secret smoker within 3 years. Came out of the [smoking] closet about 10 yrs ago).
    But my most important goal for 2012 will be to lose weight, get back into my running and workouts, eat better and be focused!! My youngest daughter is getting married in July, and I don’t want to be the frumpy, fat mother who can’t find anything pretty and flattering to wear. Plus, I want to feel good about myself again.

    Reply

  13. Kim
    Dec 27, 2011 @ 08:02:48

    Happy New Year Kitt! I totally know the secret smoker thing, I was married to a marathon runner and had to hide my ‘shameful’ habit!
    I will say one thing about quitting – YOU have to want it for YOU. No one can ‘make’ you quit. It is your decision, your own resolve that gets you through and your very own success! Do it because it is what YOU want and you won’t fail.

    You and I will be on the weight loss route together! Yay! lol

    Should we start a support group or maybe a simple post to go to to whine and moan or share the successes? Let me know!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

